Welcome to America! (More or less)

So after a 23 (approximately) hour journey across time-zones; I am now sitting in my dorm room in Arcata, California after partaking in some traditional American cuisine (read: chicken parma sub and a coke aka soda).

My dorm from the outside looks pretty cool.

My dorm from the outside looks pretty cool.

 

My dorm is pretty cool. Once you’ve walked up a massive hill (pictured below) its actually really beautiful. I had to get some help to walk (drag) my stuff up The Hill because it is really steep. Surrounded on all sides by redwoods. It is quite picturesque. (I will take some pictures tomorrow maybe, I haven’t really had time to yet). I’m the first one to move into my dorm. Today I went to Eureka, California to buy essentials and came back with 1 orange plate, bowl, cup and knife and fork (nothing if not matching don’t you know).

This is The Hill. It will be referred to in capital from now on. (Picture does not do justice)

This is The Hill. It will be referred to in capital from now on. (Picture does not do justice)

 

I’m actually without bed linen until tomorrow which I thought would matter but it doesn’t. Technologically impaired Bek is unable to turn off the heating in the apartment so until such time as my room-mates arrive it’s going to be like 23 degrees in here. I also spent 10min trying to figure out how to work the shower, you will be happy to know that I got there in the end.

There really isn’t much to report back at this stage. I’ve met a lot of people already and made friends with a few of them. Most people are really helpful. I think everyone gets in on Tuesday so then I assume the university will be busy, at the moment though it’s just really peaceful.

The view from outside my window.

The view from outside my window.

 

That’s all for the moment I think. I’ll update you all a bit later on how things are travelling. There is a hiking trail which I can see just outside my window so tomorrow I might check it out and see where it goes. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

